Australian Veteran Golfers Union Inc


  • Executives
  • State Secretaries
  • National Championships 2017 Results
  • National Championships 2019
  • National Championships 2018
  • National Championships 2016 Results
  • National Championships 2015 Results
  • National Championships 2014 Results
  • Championship Roster


                                 National President

                                 Barrie Rymer

                                 2 Banks Street

                                 Banksia Beach Qld 4507

                                 Tel (07) 3408 6430


                                 National Vice President:

                                 Daryl Dunsford

                                 77 Tobin Street

                                 Araret Vic 3377

                                 Tel (03)5352 3921



                                  Ray Gibson

                                  22 Winston Avenue

                                  Seven Mile Beach Tas 7170

                                  Tel (03) 62486686

                                  Mobile: 0418 559 168


State Secretaries

New South Wales

Len Payne    

1/7 Castlereagh Crescent

Bateau Bay NSW 2448

Tel (02) 4332 1273


Western Australia

Tony Farrow

10 Ardtalla Court

Duncraig 6023

Tel 0438 259 543



Garry Hearps

148 Alexandra Rd

Ulverstone 7315

Tel 0417 035 167


Northern Territory

John Baylis

26 Henry St

Stuart Park 0820

Tel 0437 045 987



Kym Bubner

24 Bright Street

Willaston    5118

Tel (08) 8522 5692 – Mob 0400 737 391



David Marron

PO Box 928

Gungahlin ACT 2912

Tel 0417 458 094



George Thorne

30 Clifford St

Warragul 3820

Tel (03) 5623 6082



Paul Bray

41 Campbell Street

Maryborough   Qld   4650

Mob:  0417 728 499




AVGU National Championships

Gold Coast 2017


To download full results click here

AVGU National Championships

Launceston Tasmania 2019

The National Championships in 2019 are to be held in Launceston from the 11th November to the 15th November. For more information go to

AVGU National Championships

Port Stephens NSW 2018

Dear Veteran Golfer, Group 9 Port Stephens of the NSW Veterans Golfers Association Inc is proud to be hosting the 2018 REGIS AUSTRALIAN VETERANS GOLF CHAMPIONSHIPS at beautiful Port Stephens on the NSW Central Coast. Port Stephens is two and a half hours drive north of Sydney and only 30 minutes from Newcastle airport. We are asking State, Regional and Club Secretaries to forward this message and attached flyer so that it reaches all affiliated members. The flyer provides an overview of the event and directs veteran golfers to the tournament website. ALL REGISTRATIONS RECEIVED ON OR BEFORE 31 DECEMBER 2017 will receive the DISCOUNTED ENTRY FEE OF $350 PP.

Registrations received after that date will be $390 pp. In addition to the entry fee discount, early entrants will qualify for these draws. All registrations received before 1 October 2017 will go in the draw to WIN 1 of 8 Dolphin Watch Cruises for two – one per State or Territory. All registrations received before 30 November 2017 will go in the draw to win Two Free Entries to the 2018 National Veteran Golfer Championships. You and your members are assured that all communications from our committee will be privacy law compliant. Your members will be able to unsubscribe at any time if they so choose. Your assistance in disseminating our event information and the attached flyer will be greatly appreciated. If you have any questions, please respond to or call me on 0410419967. Sincerely, Dave Flatt Tournament Director


To download a copy of a newsletter from Dave Flatt the Tournament Director click here

To download a copy of an update for the championships click here

To download a copy of update number2 for championships click here

To download a copy of update number 3 for championships click here

National Championships 2016

6th to 11th November



Champion and winner of the Jack Barkell Trophy
Ron Sternberg Willunga Golf Club

Net Champion and Winner of the Vic Kendall Trophy
Ron Randall Sanctuary Resort Golf Club

A Grade Gross
First: Tom Harold Darwin
Second: Paul Starrs Flagstaff Hill
Third: John Ciezki Buninyong

A Grade Net
First: Gordon Sherlock Hartfield
Second: Kim Horne Royal Fremantle
Third: Mike Hilsz Busselton

B Grade Gross
First: Gary Laird Kiama
Second: David Scott Mandurah
Third: Joe Alexander Nedlands

B Grade Net
First: Jon Welch Headland
Second: Max Bignell Howlong
Third: Colin Thorniley Lake Karrinyup

C Grade Gross
First: Terry Trisley Strathfield
Second: Roger Curnow Flagstaff Hill
Third: John Baylis Darwin

C Grade Net
First: Trevor Gladwin Yeppoon
Second: Gary Ward Flagstaff Hill
Third: David Barton Chequers

Ladies Veterans Stableford Competition

A Division

First: Yolande Krebs West Australian
Second: Christine Dickson Pt Macquarie
Third: Dell Brand Jamberoo

B Division

First: Dana Hudson Singleton
Second: Jan Stewart Ipswich City
Third: Christine Went Dubbo

Australian Veteran Golfer’s Union

Regis 2014 National Championships


To download a copy of the results click here

National Championship Roster

Darwin 17th to 21st August
Adelaide Hills 6th to 11th November
Gold Coast 15th to 20th October
Nelsons Bay